Skip to content

Tuesday Feature: PaintspotsnSplinters

September 7, 2010

Here we go folks with the Tuesday Feature. This week it is a really neat shop called Paint Spots N Splinters. A very clever name for what the shop is all about. Here is her answers to my questions. Enjoy and spread to word. If you know of a new shop let me know so I can feature them on this blog.
Linda

How did you get started with Etsy?
I had a couple of friends who were already Etsians with great things to say about it. i looked around the site and it piqued my curiosity. I thought I’d give it a try.

How cute

What inspires you?
The idea of creating itself! I’m also inspired by the holiday seasons and other artists. With my Fine Art, it is individual’s photos and ALWAYS water!

Where is your hometown? and current location
I’m a native Floridian from North Central Florida.

What do you like about where you live now?
The beautiful lake that we have the privilege of living near and the fact that family is not that far away.

How did you begin with your art?
I started at the age of 15 in High School under the tutelage of a fantastic Fine Arts teacher. I was lucky enough to win a few awards in a couple of local art shows. I took classes from other Local Artists but didn’t begin Decorative Woodworking/Painting until 1990. I discovered I LOVED it and found other local artisans to learn from. I try to balance my Fine Art with my Decorative Woodcrafts but I do not sale my Fine Art.

This is so spring

How would you describe your experience with etsy?
It’s been a huge learning experience for me! I actually had to sign up twice not realizing how precious that ‘name’ really was! I think the shipping is the hardest part to figure out and, at best, I just have to ‘guess-timate’! My favorite part is seeing who ‘hearts’ your shop and your stuff! Yay, somebody LOVES me!!!

What advice would you give to a Etsy beginner?
READ! READ! READ! AND then, THINK! Before you sign up! Etsy has information galore and it is very helpful. I actually researched for months before I signed up. I then realized I wanted to form a ‘real’ business and so my name needed to be changed to my DBA.

Do you sell your products on other sites? If so link to them if you like.
I do not, however, I do have an art blog where I show off my Fine Art and hold Giveaways for my Decorative Woodcrafts on a regular basis.
http://Vicky-myart.blogspot.com
I also have a Facebook page that I use for advertising: Paintspots and Splinters.

Are you more creative in the morning or evening?
Both. I’ve actually gotten myself out of bed to draw up a quick design! I’m more productive in the mornings though, especially when it comes to cutting/sanding the wood! WHEW, it can get warm here in Florida really fast!

For your teacher

What do you do for fun?
Are you serious?!! PAINT!! I do love to play the piano, sew, cook, and go for long boat rides with the family. I also love a good BBQ and lots of friends and family to share it with but painting is my therapy! I HAVE to do it!

From → crafts, handmade

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

