Skip to content

Tuesday Feature: Plumrose Lane

September 14, 2010

Here is another Tuesday Feature, this week it is Plumrose Lane. I ran across her shop on Etsy a few months ago. Normally I feature new Etsy shops on Tuesday, but I wanted to feature this shop as she is so supportive to new Etsy shops and is willing to give advice to Etsy folks.

I was impressed with her use of color and patterns in her banner and background designs. I also love her jewelry designs as well. She IS “shabby Chic”. Not only is she an excellent designer but she is one of the kindest people that I have met on Etsy. Enjoy her comments and be sure to visit her shop. Happy Tuesday!

How did you get started with Etsy?

I already had a website but found it tough to gain exposure on my own so I chose Etsy for it’s potential to offer more marketing and selling resources.

What inspires you?

Ah, so many things… my wonderful children and friends as well as other artist’s work are great resources of inspiration for me but the hundreds of ideas whirling around in my mind at any one time are a great source too.

Where is your hometown? and current location?

I’m original from Los Angeles and now live in Lewistown, a small town in central Pennsylvania.

What do you like about where you live now?

I love being surrounded by the lush green mountains, it’s beautiful! The hills remind me of where I grew up only the various shades throughout the year are an artist’s dream come true.

How did you begin with your art?

Gee, I almost want to say I was born… I’ve always expressed myself creatively in one capacity or another. With respect to the graphics work I do now, I began working as a web designer about 12 years ago. I enjoyed mixing the technical aspects with creative design and wanted to push the envelope even back then. My visions have always been at least a few steps beyond my skills but it continually keeps me learning which I love.

How would you describe your experience with etsy?

It’s been a learning curve, that’s for sure. I think I was like so many others in that I though if I opened a shop “they would come” but you quickly learn it takes more than just placing a few items in a shop. Leaning to wear all the hats in an online selling business is a huge undertaking but the experience is priceless. I learned over time to take advantage of the many resources etsy offers from forums to their blog, to teams and learning videos, there’s nearly an endless supply of resources to be had.

What advice would you give to a Etsy beginner?

Hmmmm, I think the best advice I could give is enjoy the journey. Understand that your endeavor will take a bit of work and don’t be afraid to dive in and learn new things. In making a commitment to sell online you need to stick with it and don’t give up yet be flexible and willing to try new things. It’s a tough road and sometimes it feels like a tight rope walk so always remember to make it fun, even the learning part.

Do you sell your products on other sites? If so link to them if you like.

I don’t currently sell through any other online venues however I had a shop open on Smashing Darling for about 3 years – loved them – and I tried ArtFire for a bit but personally found it easier to stick with one venue, with more commitment on my part.

Are you more creative in the morning or evening?

I believe I go through cycles and at the moment time doesn’t seem to be a factor in my creativity. I used to be a night person and really only found my creativity during the late evening hours but with a recent change in family lifestyle I now get up a few hours later than when I used to go too bed and find I’m just as creative.

What do you do for fun?

I like to play tennis and go for walks at a local state park with my family. Getting together with friends for coffee or drinks is great fun too but most of my friends are online so we chat on the phone and share a coffee that way.

Pick out 3 or 4 of your favorite items to feature

Creating blog badges is one of the smaller items I work on and yet I enjoy them so much. I love assisting bloggers in finding a creative way to gain exposure for their work:

Badge Code

I love all of the designs I create but this etsy shop image set is one of my personal favorites – I think it may be the soothing elements alluding to a day at the spa which appeal to me most:

My Favorite

I plan on incorporating some of my whimsical jewelry designs into Plumrose Lane and I especially like this particular piece for its asymmetrical design and shabby chic elements:

Fluttering

My favorite projects are working on blog themes – they’re multi faceted projects and I’ve been fortunate to have customers who really appreciate my style:

Custom Blog Theme

9

6 Comments
  1. smallftprints permalink

    WhooHoo! Wonderful feature … and I totally agree with you that Plumrose Lane is one of the kindest people … she’s fabulous!!

  2. I know, she really is.

  3. pritilisa permalink

    Yay! I jumped through the hoops and made it here in time to comment!!!!
    I did it all for the love of Sharon! She IS the sweetest, most patient and forgiving of friends.
    But…her even greater gift is her artistic eye. And her determination to bring her visions to life.
    This interview was wonderful, but it only scratched the surface of the artist, friend, mentor and confidante that she is to so many of us. And I have never even had the pleasure of meeting her.
    Thank you for a great interview 🙂

  4. Thanks so much for fixing the comments, whoot! AND for this wonderful feature, I really had fun with it! I’m looking forward to future Tuesday reads!
    ♥Sharon

  5. Paula permalink

    Sharon is such a sweetie! I loved learning more about her creative soul and her journey in life. Her work is beautiful … truly an extension of the woman within …

Leave a Reply

