Skip to content

Tuesday Feature: Sew Upscale

April 12, 2011

Image representing Etsy as depicted in CrunchBase

Image via CrunchBase

This week we head to Morganton, NC not too far from Asheville, where we find the lovely shop of Asheville Etsy Street Team member Linda Johnson of Sew Upscale. I admire people you can take scraps of fabric and create a landscape or anything for that matter. I am in love with her fabric postcards,what a unique idea. I can see her love of the Western Carolina mountains represented in many of her designs. There is something so comforting in her creations maybe its my love of nature but I think you will enjoy reading about how she creates her pieces. So read on and thanks to Sew Upscale for giving us a look into her process.

best wishes

BL

How did you get started with Etsy? I first joined Etsy as a buyer. My son told me about the site. He heard about it from a friend. I later decided to start a shop.
What inspires you? I’m inspired by my surroundings, by the landscape, by colors and by fabric. I even like thread. Almost everything inspires me!

Looking Over The Land Fabric Postcard Art Quilt
Where is your hometown? and current location? I’m from Asheville, NC but now live in Morganton, NC which is about 50 miles east of Asheville.
What do you like about where you live now? Morganton is a small town. Anywhere you go, you always know someone. The weather is very moderate although it can get hot in the summer.

Eiffel Tower at Night Landscape Quilted Fabric Postcard Art Quilt-RSRVD for JeNai
How did you begin with your art? I first started sewing when I was about 9 or 10 years old. I first started making quilted fabric postcards about 3 or 4 years ago. I saw one and thought it would be great for me since they are small and could be finished in a short amount of time. I have a problem with finishing projects! I taught myself how to make them and have since developed my own style. My favorite subject matter is the mountains. But I also love making any kind of landscape.
Do you work outside of the home? I no longer work outside the home. I left my full time job as a social worker recently after having a heart attack. The stress in that job was so great. I am now concentrating on my quilted fabric postcard business.
Are you more creative in the morning or evening? I’m usually more creative about mid morning. I like to get my workout finished before I start work on my art.

Landscape Quilted Fabric Postcard Art Quilt-Lone Star
What do you do for fun? Love to hike, travel, and spend time with my family especially my granddaughter, Nadia.
How would you describe your experience with Etsy? Etsy has been a work in progress for me and for Etsy. I think Etsy is very easy to use. I am constantly learning more on how to make my shop better. The photographs are the hardest part for me.

Who the Owl Quilted Fabric Postcard

Are part of any Etsy teams? I belong to the Asheville Etsy Street Team, Quiltsy Team and the Smoky Mountain Treasury Team
Do you sell your products on other sites? I have a shop on Artfire but I don’t spend much time on it. I also have a beautiful website my son designed.

Inspirational Sunset Seascape Fabric Postcard Art Quilt-RESERVED FOR JENAI
Do you sell in Etsy BNR’s? What do you like or dislike about the experience? I haven’t participated in the BNR.

Country Snow Scene Fabric Postcard Art Quilt
If you have other sites, blogs, facebook etc, please list your links here.
Twitter- twitter.com/sewupscale
Facebook– www.facebook.com/pages/Sew-Upscale/72860661647
Website- essentialdesignstudio.com/sewupscale/sew_upscale_index.html
Blog- www.sewupscale.blogspot.com/
Artfire www.artfire.com/SewUpscale

http://www.facebook.com/?ref=hp#!/pages/AEST/112809652066882

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

